Rowing machines ....Your Thoughts??

ElyDave

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
the correct technique with any exercise is vital. A good gym instruction should teach you that before anything else. If they don't, change gym.

That goes for running, cycling, weights, whatever.

Nickglanf

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi I have been using a rowing machine for the past five months. Fitness wise I have really benefitted from this type of exercise. I am also T1 and 55 years of age, The Rower I use is a Waterower you get the natural sound of water as you row, these rowers can also be stood on end when not in use, which saves a lot on space. I also use Dumbells as part of my exercise workout. I just wish I had started rowing years ago because my health and well being has greatly improved.

therower

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi Nickglanf. So happy you're enjoying rowing and reaping the benefits. I'm also T1 and 52yrs old but have been using rowing machine's for 25 yrs plus and can honestly say they're my favourite piece of kit at the gym. I know that not everyone gets on with them and that's good it means that I can always get on one whenever I'm in the gym. Recently I've started using a BOSU ball, not sure if you are familiar with them but i think they are really good for people around our age. Have really benefitted from a different workout on a very simple piece of kit, great for core and joint strengthening without the need for lots of weights.Good luck and happy rowing

Reactions: kev-w

Nickglanf

Type of diabetes
Type 1