Metformin vs Insulin?

Cocosilk

Type of diabetes
Gestational
Treatment type
Insulin
Has anyone tried either Metformin or Insulin in isolation and can explain the side effects and how it is to come off them?
I suspect I may be asked to take one or the other for Gestational Diabetes and am wondering how the body adjusts postnatally. How do these medications affect your body's chance of going back to normal (if at all)?

dancer

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I don't know about Metformin but I think, if you were put on insulin, after the birth when blood sugars reduced, your Insulin would be reduced till (hopefully) you were back to pre diabetic levels and wouldn't require any medication.

Reactions: Cocosilk

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Whilst I have no experience of gestational diabetes, I have observed man you forum users come off their Metformin once their condition is in a good place. Most reduce it over a period of time, just to ensure their numbers don't go haywire.

Metformin doesn't drive blood sugars down, per we, but helps our bodies cope with food a bit better, which reducing insulin resistance a bit alongside the way.

To be honest, if you have these concerns, it would be useful to discuss them with your prenatal or maternity team. I doubt they'll be keen to keep people on medication any longer than absolutely necessary

stuart.howard

Has anyone tried either Metformin or Insulin in isolation and can explain the side effects and how it is to come off them?
I suspect I may be asked to take one or the other for Gestational Diabetes and am wondering how the body adjusts postnatally. How do these medications affect your body's chance of going back to normal (if at all)?

Cocosilk

Type of diabetes
Gestational
Treatment type
Insulin