Hello group,

I am brand-spanking new to the forum and to the Diabetes journey. I have suspected for 5 or 6 years that I might have it but due to other very time consuming demands, I could not afford the time to have it checked out. Symptoms such as a dry mouth, frequent urination and the other diabetes signals were put on the back-burner so to speak. Over the past two weeks I finally went to the doctor (after 25 years) and on Monday past, the confirmation was received. I have TYPE 2 Diabetes - and of course I was not surprised. I should probably mention that I am 71 years and generally fit with no other medical issues. I reside in Canada

Anyway, my blood glucose was first recorded at 18 mmol/l.. I do not have a list of results from Monday but at this point, I have taken readings. MY first fast reading was 15.2 The second on the next day after dinner was 13.2; and, this morning, my fast reading is 12.3. My GP has put me on Janumet XR 50/1000mg. Since I am quite new to this, I can only assume that the glucose readings are going in the right direction.

Over my adult lifetime, I have never eaten breakfast or lunch so having to adjust my eating habits at this late stage in life is a wee bit of a challenge particularly when I tended to eat healthy foods devoid of chemicals and "process". Strangely I am physically fit, work out; and, although my running days are behind me I do my version of a 3 - 5 mile powerwalk daily.

It is going to take me a while to read through the Forum but I am so very grateful that you all exist. Being as new as I am to Diabetes I am not sure if I can lend assistance at this point but if I can be of support to some, I will certainly step up.

I take a deep breath and prepare for life's next adventure.

How's Canada ?
Well, it is struggling to be spring here but the Robin's are clearly out:). Politically, it is as much of a disaster as the rest of the world but it is home and there is no lack of things to do.