Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
How far in advance of eating are you injecting? What level of rise are you seeing?

busydiabeticmum

Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
How far in advance of eating are you injecting? What level of rise are you seeing?
They say fast acting starts working in 20 mins so I need to inject just b4 eating so I don't get distracted and then test 2hrs after.
Lantus is b4 bed.

Diakat

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
The smell of cigars
Injecting right before you eat means any carbs hit your bloodstream before the insulin gets to work.

Annb

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Yes I'm a driver but dvla only need to be informed of you are on a medication for more than 3 months and I will be on it for less than 2. I only need to inform the insurance company...

I would make sure that your BG levels are checked once your baby is born. If my initial problem was GD, then it didn't end when my last son was born. My daughter-in-law also had GD when she was expecting her 3rd child, and it was assumed that, once her baby was born, everything would return to normal, so nobody checked. Much later she was diagnosed as T2 and put onto insulin directly. She is now permanently on insulin. I'm not saying that this happens to everybody because, without doubt, GD does go away for many (most?) mothers, but it is worth making a check to make sure.

All good wishes for yourself and your baby.

Annb

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Injecting right before you eat means any carbs hit your bloodstream before the insulin gets to work.
How far in advance of a meal would you suggest injecting insulin then? I was told to inject just before putting a meal on the table. Have I been doing it wrong all this time?

MeiChanski

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin