How can Empagliflozin remove 90g of glucose per day?

Rabdos

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello!

I read Empagliflozin removes 90g of glucose per day.
How it can do that? I mean after a meal the blood glucose can be 250mg/dL. That is 12.5g in the whole blood and you cannot go lower than 100mg/dL which is 5g in the whole blood. So Empagliflozin could only remove 7.5g of glucose after a meal.
If you eat 3 times per day, that is 22.5g of glucose per day.

How does it supposedly remove a huge 90g of glucose without dropping you into hypoglycemia?

Are my calculations wrong?

Thanks!

ickihun

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies
I'm no expert but those meds filter using the kidneys and are prone to acidketosis. My belief is it reduces circulatory blood hence meter tester shows one reading but new glucose is not reduced resulting in very high glucose about to affect the system. A few people hv suffered a severe hyperglucemic event. Warnings are now on meds and GPS hv sent letters to any patient using similiar meds.

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Are you sure its not 90% rather than 90g

from the wiki page on it

Screenshot 2019-08-13 at 13.09.55.png

Has a nasty list of possible side effects..

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Empagliflozin

Brunneria

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello!

How it can do that? I mean after a meal the blood glucose can be 250mg/dL. That is 12.5g in the whole blood and you cannot go lower than 100mg/dL which is 5g in the whole blood. So Empagliflozin could only remove 7.5g of glucose after a meal.

How does it supposedly remove a huge 90g of glucose without dropping you into hypoglycemia?

Thanks!

Hi Rabdos.

Just because someone has a certain amount of glucose in the blood at any one time, doesn’t mean that they only have that amount of glucose throughout the whole day.