Capt-Slog

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Sport
Hi Folks,

A quick question before i make a mistake i can't come back from.
Yesterday i received my new Dexcom G6 Starter Kit. :)

I have been using the Libre/MiaoMiao with xDrip+ for a few years.
I like xDrip+....a lot, and I want to continue using it with the G6.

Last week i got my Tandem t:slim X2 pump.

My questions are:

1. Do i have to download the Dexcom App when i first start using the Transmitter or can i just use xDrip+ ?
  2. Does it make any difference which device i connect the G6 to first?
    • xDrip+
    • t:slim X2
    • Dexcom G6 app
  3. Can i use it with all three at the same time?
Clearly I am aiming at using the Basal IQ software with the X2/G6 combo.
However, i want to continue using xDrip as i like all the cool features.

Any advice?

DunePlodder

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
1. You don't need the Dexcom App.
2. I use xDrip+ to start, then on the pump you enter the transmitter number, but don't need to enter the sensor number - I think you "Skip" This means you do the 2 hour warm up on xDrip+ then the pump just sort of "joins in" after it gets some readings.
I understand you can do the pump first if you want to.

3. You can only use at 2 once. The transmitter has 2 channels - one for a "Receiver" & one for a Phone.
In our case the pump is the Receiver.
You can't use the Dexcom App & xDrip+ at the same time.

Reactions: Capt-Slog

Capt-Slog

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Sport
You are a Star DP.
Gonna put it on now.

Because I am doing the "Beginners Pump Course" for the next few weeks, my DSN and Dietician were not keen for me to use Basal IQ. They are getting us "pumpers" to sort out our BASAL rates using the "Fasting Method". Did my first go this morning and ended up nearly hypo at lunchtime.
Guess that sort of proved their point though. My Basal rate for the morning isn't quite right yet.