Diagnosed today by post

Michaelsnny

Hi everyone
Last few months I've had problems with sight bladder and feeling sick doctor seemed it was nothing to worry about as I take 600mg of pregabalin a day for nerve damage last week I was asked to do a free health check as I been feeling **** lately I decided to go Dr sent me for blood test fasting one which came back at 8.4 and hbA1c of 70mmol/mol I was asked to go for a retest of hbA1c 71 mmol/mol then this morning I got a letter saying he thinks I'm diabetic can anyone help with these figures as I cant get appointment until 25th Feb

Languagelearner

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I shouldn't reply as I'm not an expert either, but the HA1C results can be reported either as mmol/mol (eg your 71) or as a %, which is what your 8.4% was. I know mine are 48 or 6.5%. So there must be a way of converting between the two via a formula that someone will know.

Brunneria

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi and welcome @Michaelsnny

sorry to hear about your diagnosis. Always an unwelcome shock, even if expected.

here is a table that allows you to see how the HbA1c units compare with fingerprick blood tests, and with the American HbA1c % unit.
To make things even more complicated, here in the UK we used to use the % units but switched to mmol/mol a few years ago for our HbA1c units, and some UK docs and labs still give out figs in the % version.

When we do fingerprick tests (those of us who use a finger pricking tester (aka a glucometer) we in the UK use mmol/l units, which are shown on the bottom of the arc.

67964386-6036-40AF-8DE4-4C683C864B23.jpeg

Your HbA1c reading of 70mmol/mol puts you squarely into diabetes I am afraid (as your doc has already diagnosed).
Anything over 48 is diabetic.