Underlying health issues but management want me to stand close to patients! help

Kertom

I have underlying health issues ( diabetes ) so the government says keep a distance between other people but where do I stand at work ...I work in a hospital and I’ve been told to ask patients questions as they enter and take temperatures which puts me in very close proximity to them. I usually work behind a desk which is quiet deep a large distance between patients that I am happy with. I’ve now refused to take the temperature and asked to stay behind the desk because of the close proximity and the government guidelines on the diabetes website it says stay at least 1 metre away from other people ...I’ve been told by management if I don’t take the temperature I will face a disciplinary I explained I was following the guidelines laid down by the government and they said I was no more at risk behind the desk than I was close to the customer ..what shall I do when I go to work on Tuesday
confused_smile.gif
do you think I’m right in what I’ve said ?

JohnEGreen

Master
Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Tripe and Onions
Do you have a union rep you can ask to intercede for you if in your position I would be hesitant to comply with your managements request.

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.
Everybody is being asked to maintain social distancing, for diabetics it's "stringent social distancing."

Print off the guidance from the gov website and show it to your employer?

Jan30012016

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
It's all very confusing.
The news now states 12 weeks isolation for underlying health conditions but does this mean us with Diabetes? I'm unsure.
We should receive letters from our gps if this is the case.

Reactions: jjraak

HSSS

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only