Guardian sensor alarm help

Irl1

Hi
I’m relatively new to the guardian sensor and just wondered do others struggle with constant alarms? I’m really keen to keep my glucose on target but overnight I had hourly alarms that my glucose was rising rapidly when it has just varied between 5.6mmol and 6.3mmol/l throughout - so a relatively flat curve! I had changed the setting to three arrows up to try and reduce this alarm.
Wondering out of interest what others set their alarms to? Just alarm before high - how long begore high and do they using the glucose rising alarm?

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hello @Irl1 and welcome to the forum:)

I don’t use the guardian sensor but the Dexcom G6 which alerts to rapidly rising levels and has a high/low BG alert, it took some getting used to, particularly at night as my sleep was being disrupted on a regular basis, ok it’s good to adjust insulin it’s hard when it’s at the detriment of your sleep. I tried switching it on/off, raised my alert level and now have it turned off, oddly enough I wake when high/low but I think in regards to your settings it is down to what works for you.

Helen46