• No

Votes: 88 30.7%
  • Considering it

Votes: 51 17.8%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Slaine2k

Lol I’ve seen the masks and they’re the same ones worn by nurses and dentists so I just assumed they’re the same so my bad I’m no expert but I do have a question what the difference between these mask that my nurse uses and other mask that use filters like pm2.5 or n95 filters apart from I think they provide more layers so maybe greater protection as I need to buy something for bus travel even though apparently even from a place like amazon it’ll take 20 days to arrive !!!!

Reactions: jjraak

Dark Horse

Herd immunity is a concept that depends on a 95% uniform vaccination level that means throughout a population if any people even in small enclaves do not take up on the vaccination the concept of herd immunity disappears as has happened with measles.
The percentage of the population required to be immune in order to produce herd immunity depends on the R0 value for the disease. Measles has a very high R0 value (12-18) so requires something like 95% of the population to be immune in order to provide herd immunity. The R0 for Covid-19 is much lower so it's been calculated that we would need around 60% of the population to be immune to achieve herd immunity.

The maths behind it is explained here:- https://plus.maths.org/content/maths-minute-r0-and-herd-immunity

JohnEGreen

Master
Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Tripe and Onions
The percentage of the population required to be immune in order to produce herd immunity depends on the R0 value for the disease. Measles has a very high R0 value (12-18) so requires something like 95% of the population to be immune in order to provide herd immunity. The R0 for Covid-19 is much lower so it's been calculated that we would need around 60% of the population to be immune to achieve herd immunity.