Type 2 diagnosed today

Spiritedgirl

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hello everyone complete newbie to this so bear with me, had some symptoms over the last few months that led me to believe I may be diabetic which was confirmed today, I started the year at nearly 19 stone after the last few years of utter hell, I have now dropped to just under 16 my mmol reading is 90 should I be scared ? Over the last month I now walk a minimum of 6k everyday have dropped all but greek yoghurt carbs and said goodbye to my love affair with bread and chocolate and divorced pasta! so now on a lean meat and fish and vegetable diet working to to be still in a calorie deficit, is there anything else I can be doing? Have to go back in three months for another blood test aim to lose another stone by then. And get my blood sugar levels right down as much as I can, Any advice on what else i should be doing is gratefully received thank you

Reactions: Buzzer81

Goonergal

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi @Spiritedgirl and welcome to the forum.

It sounds like you’re on this. Presumably the 90 is your HbA1c result. It’s high, but many on here have dropped from similar, or higher levels into the non-diabetic range.

Is there any reason why you’re avoiding natural fats and aiming for calorie deficit? That can be a difficult strategy to maintain. Eating natural fats attached to protein helps with satiety.

How are your blood sugar levels doing? Do you have your own meter to test?

Spiritedgirl

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi @Spiritedgirl and welcome to the forum.

It sounds like you’re on this. Presumably the 90 is your HbA1c result. It’s high, but many on here have dropped from similar, or higher levels into the non-diabetic range.