Metformin smell

Dugbriz81

Hi - I have an embarrassing question. I have type 2 diabetes, well controlled now. I had been using regular metformin and extended release metformin, but what I’ve noticed with both is that when I sweat, I smell awful. I’ve read some people describe a “fishy” smell primarily with regular metformin. I don’t know if I’d call it fishy, but it’s gross, and I notice it just as much with extended release. It’s actually extremely embarrassing and others have commented on how I smell. It’s to the point where I don’t think I can take metformin anymore. Does anyone have any advice or experience with this? Thank you

JoKalsbeek

Expert
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi - I have an embarrassing question. I have type 2 diabetes, well controlled now. I had been using regular metformin and extended release metformin, but what I’ve noticed with both is that when I sweat, I smell awful. I’ve read some people describe a “fishy” smell primarily with regular metformin. I don’t know if I’d call it fishy, but it’s gross, and I notice it just as much with extended release. It’s actually extremely embarrassing and others have commented on how I smell. It’s to the point where I don’t think I can take metformin anymore. Does anyone have any advice or experience with this? Thank you