bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Serum Triglycerides 0.9
Serum HDL 1.9

If you think (as I and many experts do, although I'm no expert I freely admit ) that a major indicator of heart problems ahead is the Trig/HDL ratio then yours is near perfect. Anything sub 0.87 is deemed excellent and yours is 0.474 .

LDL is a calculated number and can often be misrepresented when following a low carb diet as the calculations can be way off.

You could, if your GP is very concerned, ask for a coronary artery calcium scan to look at actual plaque build up in your arteries. Whilst it is unlikely that you will get this on the NHS it is always a possibility so definitely worth asking for.

I'd seriously suggest doing a lot of reading around the subject before taking any drugs that interfere with some of the most basic functions of our brains which are made partly of cholesterol. Others may disagree but so far I have yet to see them produce much evidence...

As always it's up to you what you put in your body.

Ryhia

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
@Debandez, there are reasons people are legitimately prescribed statins. To dismiss them outright could cause difficulties for some people. I would agree that mass prescribing for anyone with raised cholesterol and / or T2 is not the best practice, (in my opinion).
I would add that anyone who has been checked and found to have familial hypercholesterolaemia, which is a genetic trait, should not be discouraged from taking medication prescribed to lower cholesterol. This is important to mention, as I would not like anyone to feel intimidated into stopping or refusing thesemeds if they do have the condition.