I'm new to insulin, can anyone give me any pointers?

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello there, a couple of months ago I was put onto lantus and told to adjust my dosage until my morning glucose was in good range. Im also on 2000mg glucophage and 320mg gliclazide daily too.

The nurse has just started me on novorapid as my morning numbers are still at 15mml before food and peak into the high 20s after food.
I've been told to start at an initial 6 units with every meal with a goal of no more than a 2mml rise after two hours. My question is how do I account for a correction dose to get my glucose into normal range on waking and for stability through the day. I'm so over this disease.

ert

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
diabetes
fasting
As you've just started insulin, you may need to wait a week or so to see where your numbers end up, before making too many changes, as blood sugars tend to come down gradually. I recommend that you start by checking your basal dose buy skipping a meal or eating a carb-free meal to see if your blood sugars holds a line. Follow your DN's advice until you get this right. You should also record a diary of your waking, bedtime, before meals and five hours afterwards finger-prick blood sugars, how much insulin you are dosing and what your carbohydrate count is each meal. Once you have 4-5 days of data, send it into your DN for dosing advice.

It's also important to ask your DN about your own correction dose. Correction doses should be taken with your next meal, and if you're not on any other medication, usually start with the calculation 1 U will drop your blood sugar 2-3 mmol/l. As you're on other medication, contact your DN for clarification.

Injected insulin has a fixed curve, so if you eat normally, you can not achieve the no-more-than-2 mmol/l rise as stated by your nurse (unless you go low carb.) What's important is that your blood sugars return to what they were 5 hours after eating.