High Blood sugar

Nat...

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
My blood sugar is 19.5 and I have no idea why it's so high. I've done nothing different today than I have for the last 2 years I've been diagnosed. I checked my ketones and luckily there are none present but it's so frustrating because I dont know why it's so high and it has been high all day and doesnt seem to be coming down.

Choosehappy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Hypos!
My blood sugar is 19.5 and I have no idea why it's so high. I've done nothing different today than I have for the last 2 years I've been diagnosed. I checked my ketones and luckily there are none present but it's so frustrating because I dont know why it's so high and it has been high all day and doesnt seem to be coming down.
Hello, I’m newly diagnosed actually only a few days ago so I’m no expert! But a lot of people on here have said levels can run high if you might be ill or coming down with something, what’s your temperature like? Also, are you stressed?

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.

Is it possible that you could be coming down with an illness? A virus of some description or even "the virus" is going to drive your glucose levels up.

What is your chosen method of monitoring? Do you have Dexcom or Libre or are you finger pricking?

If finger pricking then maybe try a new pot of strips to verify the results. If using CGM then also do finger pricks to verify the results.

Nat...

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I used my libre and the libre glucose testing strips and my other meter just to verify the number. I did have a huge dissertation presentation worth 20 percent of my modules grade this morning so maybe that is it!

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin

Hi,

Hope you are getting back in range.