Re-introduction from a member who disappeared!

rads41

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,

I am a type 2 diabetic and have been a member of this forum for 7 years. When I first joined my husband and I were trying for a baby and I really needed advice and support to manage my diabetes at the time. Enter stage left - the Diabetes Forum!!
Anyway, because of you guys I adopted LCHF and went in to have a healthy baby boy . He will be 4 in March! I can’t thank you enough for the advice and support given to me at the time.

So here’s my current situation, and please forgive me, I’m trying to stay positive. Since having my son I’ve struggled with LCHF. My sugars were beautifully controlled pre and during pregnancy and I fell off the wagon big time after he was born. Stupid, I know. Trust me, I feel stupid - I’m an engineer and consider myself fairly smart. Obviously I’m stupid about this issue though because I understand but I don’t do it. Now I should be more determined than ever to stay healthy for my son. The guilt I feel is unbearable and yet I struggle with this every day. I worry endlessly that I’ve done damage to myself that I can’t see yet but can’t reverse. My diagnosis was 14 years ago and I didn’t really pay much attention to my diabetes until I tried to get pregnant. As I said - stupid. My HBa1c results have been around the 8.6 mark and I have no diabetic complications apart from a wee bleed in the back of my eye ( this hasn’t become any worse). I take insulin and metformin.

Anyway, sorry for the long post/pity fest. Stage 1 of my plan was to get my sorry self back on here, engage and stay engaged, give and get support and move forwards.

Thanks for taking the time to read!

Rads41

VashtiB

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Welcome back.

Congratulations on the birth of your baby. I know that after a baby is born your whole world turns upside down.