Covid vaccination

jazzyone

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Has anyone had the covid vaccination and had any side effects? I'm type 1, have been for 44years, I took a reaction to my flu vaccination this year, it made my blood sugar very high for few days, I'm normally quite well controlled. I work as a health care assistant and I'm getting 1st vaccination on Tuesday and I'm nervous about any side effects that will affect my diabetes. Has anyone had it yet

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hi @jazzyone Only my mum and step dad and both had sore arms for a couple of days but that was it, it’s a completely different mechanic to the flu vaccine and as we are all different it would be hard to say how it will affect you, I think I’ve had one bad flu jab in 9 years but it still doesn’t put me off getting it and looking forward to the possibility of having some immunity to COVID.

Reactions: jazzyone

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
My mum has been called in for one.

My sister's father in law has had the two.. (He isn't in the best of health. Though non D.)
All seems good from the reports I've had from little sis regarding this..

Flu jabs. From my experience, it lessens the impact (at the very least should it be contracted.)
COVID? If/when the jab is offered up for me. I would still be wary till the R numbers abate..

Last edited:
Reactions: jazzyone

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I know a few people who have had the vaccination, including some people with Type 1 diabetes.
Like any vaccination, the reactions have been varied. Most have had no reaction. One person with Type 1 has seen a slight increase in blood sugars but nothing significant.

I am looking forward to my jab - I would rather have the risk of a few days with higher blood sugars (or rather higher insulin doses) than covid.