Diabetic Maculopathy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi all, had a recent eye test and was well aware of the retinopathy in my eyes, I’ve been a type 1 diabetic diabetic for 22 years. However after my most recent eye test, I got a letter saying there were “signs of Diabetic maculopathy, tryst need to be further examined”. I have limited knowledge about maculopathy, but my sight is relatively normal, no blurriness or anything... Has anyone had a similar letter after their eye screening? And is there a reason to be highly concerned? My HBA1C as been ok in recent years, averaging around 7-7.5 so but shocked this has happened to be honest. Thanks in advance

kvetiny

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi, I received a letter about 2 months ago saying signs of Maculopathy. Must be only slight changes. I now have 6 month reviews on it. No difference in eyesight. My eyesight is very good actually. Type 1 of 9 years. HBA1C 8.4%. It's a kick start for me to sort my self out. Now being investigated for neuropathy. Knew the associated complications of diabetes but didn't think I would experience all this in my 30s.

Rokaab

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
In Feb/march I got a very similar letter, I've had background retinopathy for donkeys years, but about 3 years ago they found maculopathy, but it disappeared after about a year or so, until this last one where it has returned :(, bizarrely I've only started getting it since my control has actually been good, typical huh (my HbA1C for the last 5 years has between between 43 and 48 and pretty stable).
Admittedly I have now had T1 for 40+ years, maybe its starting to catch up with me :(

Got a letter saying I'm on surveillance screening now, next in in May - though I haven't figured out how I'm getting there yet (last time my friend booked time off work to take me, cant really ask him to do that again)

kvetiny

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin