How to make diagnosis easier?

APNP

Type of diabetes
HCP
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi, I am an Advanced Paediatric Nurse Practitioner working in a general hospital in Scotland and I'd like to hear views from parents and children about how the news was broken to you that you had diabetes. (Not necessarily just in Scotland) Part of my job is making that diagnosis and I am likely to be the one who has to tell you the news. So please tell me your stories, the good and the bad. I (think) I can understand it is a shock to most, there is an enormous amount of information given to you, often too quickly and I'd like to understand better what the general feel is to what you really need to know and when. This is for personal development only not for publication however if you give me good ideas I'd like to share those with my colleagues. Please only contribute if you are happy for me to share your thoughts and feelings...and a big thankyou in advance. And if you are under 18 please make sure your parents are happy that you are sharing!

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Hi APNP and welcome to the forum. You may also want to post the above in the Parents section of the forum, it will probably get a few more reply's there.

Reactions: 3 people

APNP

Type of diabetes
HCP
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi APNP and welcome to the forum. You may also want to post the above in the Parents section of the forum, it will probably get a few more reply's there.
Thanks, How do I find the parents section???

daisy1

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Cruelty towards animals.
Go to the Home Page. Scroll down and you will find the heading Parents.

carty

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)