1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2021 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

How to make diagnosis easier?

Discussion in 'Ask A Question' started by APNP, Jan 11, 2014.

1. APNP

APNP HCP · Newbie

Hi, I am an Advanced Paediatric Nurse Practitioner working in a general hospital in Scotland and I'd like to hear views from parents and children about how the news was broken to you that you had diabetes. (Not necessarily just in Scotland) Part of my job is making that diagnosis and I am likely to be the one who has to tell you the news. So please tell me your stories, the good and the bad. I (think) I can understand it is a shock to most, there is an enormous amount of information given to you, often too quickly and I'd like to understand better what the general feel is to what you really need to know and when. This is for personal development only not for publication however if you give me good ideas I'd like to share those with my colleagues. Please only contribute if you are happy for me to share your thoughts and feelings...and a big thankyou in advance. And if you are under 18 please make sure your parents are happy that you are sharing!

2. noblehead

noblehead Type 1 · Guru
    Retired Moderator