More bloody abscesses

Loobles

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
People who interrupt you when you're talking and people who won't listen.
So, remember I got tested for diabetes originally because I kept getting abscesses? Well everything had settled down nicely since I've been watching the carbs and I thought I was onto a winner...

And then yesterday I started with a fairly non-specific jaw ache...which by this morning was making me want to jump off a cliff. Rang my dentist, who kindly agreed to see me today...I have an abscess on a tooth which should really be healthy as there's nothing otherwise wrong with it. Flipping agony.

And now...in an attempt to go for a hat-trick 3 abscess in 3 months, it looks like the original abscess is coming back too. Oh the joys.

Anyone else get this many abscesses? I was hoping once I lowered my BG it would stop!

Brunneria

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
You poor thing. I really feel for you.

The original abscess flaring up will just be because of the tooth. Which is no consolation, of course. :(

Is there any chance you may have another, longterm hidden infection that is depressing your immune system?

My mother had a few years of strange, random infections (ear, skin, teeth, bladder). Then somehow (heaven knows how) someone identified an infected stitch that had been left in her abdomen following a hysterectomy. The stitch, and the pocket of infection were removed, and she hasn't had any of those niggling knock on infections since.

If that is ringing any bells, think back to anything that might have left a lingering infection...

Reactions: 6 people

Loobles

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
You poor thing. I really feel for you.

The original abscess flaring up will just be because of the tooth. Which is no consolation, of course. :(