Newbie diagnosed with impaired glucose tolerance

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
His, I'm a newbie to the forum. I was diagnosed with impaired glucose tolerance after two recent fasting blood tests showed levels of 6.8 and 6.2. I had an appointment with a dietician at my Health Centre today which was a miserable experience. I wondered what other experiences folks had with NHS Dietitians? Came out of the appointment feeling patronised, judged and wanting to lock myself in a dark room. Yes, I know I need to lose weight but don't appreciate being sneered at for my inability to like oily fish and told to eat carbs at lunch time with my salad. I'm trying hard, swimming twice a week and gym in between. The statement that you can't afford to eat what you like anymore just makes me miserable nd the advice seems confusing based on what I have read about carbs.

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Hi and welcome to the forum. One of the mods will give you a welcome
I would advise having a good read about all the relevant recommendations on food and exercise on the threads on this site. There are some wonderful experienced people who will advise you if you need to ask questions.
It is very confusing when first diagnosed but you have made the first steps.
We have all probably had bad experiences with our surgeries and have misdiagnosed like myself or found the advice given is outdated and not helpful to a pre diabetic like yourself.
You will never regret learning about the choices and lifestyle recommended on this site.
Let us know from time to time how you are getting on.

Reactions: 2 people
Hi,