How Can I create awareness In India...?

priyankakedia

Hi everyone,
I am Priyanka, a Type-1 diabetic for almost 10 years now. I am a resident in India. People in India are very much less aware about type-1 diabetics as minimal percentage of people are suffering from this disorder. Although diabetics is much more prevalent.
When anyone hear that girls at their young age has to take insulin injections they get shock. Because of this little awareness, all type-1's are facing problems with regard to their marriage especially girls.
How can we change their attitude and mindset with respect to this disease...? Can anyone suggest some ideas in this regard. Does life involve many complications at a later stage in life?
Does being a Type-1 diabetic involves issues in married life? My doctor says a no. What are your answers?
How to I create an awareness about it...? Please help.

Thanks,
Priyanka

phoenix

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Priyankakedia,
If you keep good control you will be able to live a normal active life. If you read on this forum you will find that there are lots of people who have had T1 for many years and many who are mothers.
There are people with T1 both in the US and UK who have lived without complications for 50 or more years. Here is a video of just some of them.
[youtube]OxCpQqjLRo8[/youtube]

If you are wanting to create awareness in general, obviously that's a huge task but there is a charity that aims at doing just that. It's primary aim is helping children, particularly girls , in India to get access to insulin and to educate their families.
http://www.dreamtrust.org/aim.html

Reactions: 4 people

priyankakedia

Thanks phoenix for your reply and for sharing such a motivational video.