Just changed my canula and blood everywhere

ronialive

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
ignorant people
Hi I have been pumping for 3 years almost and never had this before. I just changed my kit and after unsticking the old canula and pulling it out I was priming the new one to go in and felt a drip. When I looked there was blood everywhere running out of the old site. I applied pressure and when I removed it, the cloth it was still pouring blood.
I have never known this- it was in my stomach. Has anyone else had this. I have had several hypos over the last few days so assume this is the reason. Was I just unlucky?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Had this happen two weeks ago on the stomach, removed Pod and starting bleeding out and it soaked a hanky before it stopped, the most likely explanation is you ruptured one of the small capillary vessels that lay close to the skin, I would occasionally bleed after a injection pre-pump.

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
Must be a bleeder day, I had exactly the same problem at lunchtime. It's only the second one I've had in almost 8 years of pumping.

ronialive

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
ignorant people
Thanks- reassuring to know that it does happen to others.

irrationalJohn

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Pump
Has anyone else had this?
Oh, yeah. I would go so far as to say that if happens sooner or later to anyone who pumps. It's just a matter of time and chance.

Has anyone else had this. I have had several hypos over the last few days so assume this is the reason. Was I just unlucky?