Can I join the club

Martinjd

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi I'm Martin, I've had regular blood checks over the last few years due to having high blood pressure, I'm told my level has recently gone from 48 to 63 and so now am type 2 diabetic.
I'm not good at asking questions but I did take in that I should cut down on carbs, that surprised me I thought I would just have to go without sweets and buiscuits. I will ask things on here that have been asked many times before sorry.

Reactions: 4 people

martsnow

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi and welcome to the forum. I have only been a member for six weeks and it has proved an invaluable source of support and information

It is only through asking questions that we learn, and remember there is no such think as a daft question

Mart

Reactions: 4 people

martsnow

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
BASIC INFORMATION FOR NEWLY DIAGNOSED DIABETICS

Diabetes is the general term to describe people who have blood that is sweeter than normal. A number of different types of diabetes exist.

A diagnosis of diabetes tends to be a big shock for most of us. It’s far from the end of the world though and on this forum you’ll find over 150,000 people who are demonstrating this.

On the forum we have found that with the number of new people being diagnosed with diabetes each day, sometimes the NHS is not being able to give all the advice it would perhaps like to deliver - particularly with regards to people with type 2 diabetes.

The role of carbohydrate

Carbohydrates are a factor in diabetes because they ultimately break down into sugar (glucose) within our blood. We then need enough insulin to either convert the blood sugar into energy for our body, or to store the blood sugar as body fat.

If the amount of carbohydrate we take in is more than our body’s own (or injected) insulin can cope with, then our blood sugar will rise.

The bad news