3 Year License Renewal Worries

jonsteele

Type of diabetes
Type 1
I’ve been a type 1 diabetic for 30+ years, and have never had a hypo that needed outside help until a few weeks ago. It ended up with paramedics being involved. I’d had alcohol, and I’m pretty sure it’s why I missed the warning signs. I’ve always been hypo aware, and still am - it just seems a one off.

I’m now worried I won’t get my licence renewed! I drive for a living, so will be in serious trouble if not.

Anyone had any experience of this?

Last edited:

Riva_Roxaban

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I’ve been a type 1 diabetic for 30+ years, and have never had a hypo that needed outside help until a few weeks ago. It ended up with paramedics being involved. I’d had alcohol,
Driving for a living and drinking alcohol do not go together, here it is zero alcohol in the blood when tested.

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
Interesting article here
Diabetes and your driving licence | DVLA laws | Diabetes UK

Looks like ordinary Group 1 drivers are OK as long as they weren't at the wheel when it happened and it's only once in a year. If you're Group 2 you may be in trouble.

In your position, I'd be thinking very carefully about methods to stop it happening again, because if it does within the next 12 months you'll lose your license for 3 months. I've had a few such episodes in the past, usually when I've kept my blood sugars unusually low (for me) for a while (eg T1 pregnancies). I ended up with a slightly higher hba1c target which seemed to fix the issue. Now I self fund a cgm which gives me much more confidence.

Good luck. Hypos are scary.

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin