Advice on returning to work please

Laura Jane

I am a kindergarten teacher for children ages 2-5 I have type 2 diabetes and I am expected to return to school next week, the question is should I? I am riddled with guilt about what to do. If I do not go back on Monday how long should I continue to stay away from work for as my head is pestering me? thanks

Circuspony

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Your school has an obligation to do risk assessments so I'd speak to them. I know some schools are putting in place pretty robust controls.

Reactions: Robinredbreast

Rozoid

Type of diabetes
Type 1
I am a teacher In a special school and type 1. My consultant said I need to work from home considering my job, and sent me a letter to send to my employer. I am lucky as my head teacher is really understanding and I do a lot of planning for colleagues, Plan home learning and phone calls home to the kids etc, so we, as a team, are sharing the load. It’s really hard though isn’t it, as you feel guilty for letting the team and the kids down. maybe you should contact your GP for advice/ letter? The little ones need their regular teachers but there is no way you will be able to keep it non contact.
I hope this helps.

Rebecca24601

I am a (T1) Y6 teacher so my class are all returning next week. I am continuing to teach from home. At the end of the day, I am no use to a class if I am unwell and I am safest working from home since there’s no possibility of distancing in schools. I don’t know where you are in the world but in the UK the governmental guidelines are for diabetics to be supported to work from home where possible.

hodders

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I am (T1) special needs teacher in a primary, due to start back on Monday.