After meal glucose readings 2hr

Wave96

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
I have been diagnosed with diabetes but don’t know what type yet. Suspected type 2. I had shredded wheat for breakfast with very little milk, original with no added sugars. It’s very low in sugar.
After 2 hours I felt tired and did a reading of 10.6 mmol/l it’s under the 11mmol/l my doctor told me to look for though. Is this a normal reading?

im new to diabetes and I haven’t been told much information.

Goonergal

Master
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only

TriciaWs

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
I went low carb, not just low sugar, to get my T2 under control. That meant giving up breakfast cereals!
Do some reading about this, an easy start is with the info graphics produced by Dr David Unwin.
https://phcuk.org/sugar/

Wave96

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only
I went low carb, not just low sugar, to get my T2 under control. That meant giving up breakfast cereals!
Do some reading about this, an easy start is with the info graphics produced by Dr David Unwin.”

thank you! It’s certainly a useful read. If you don’t mind me asking, what do you have for breakfast/ what kinds of foods do you find better?
Also if you do have carbs say with an evening meal how did you manage it?

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
It is not possible to determine the impact your breakfast had on your levels without knowing what they were before eating.
The recommendation is to test before your meal and two hours later aiming for a rise of no more than 2 to 3 (depends which websites you read) between the readings.
Given people without diabetes can see numbers in the 9s, I do not consider 10 as high for myself and suggesting you should do better than someone without diabetes is possible a little unnecessarily over eager.

Mrs T 123

Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type