Type 1 Allergic reaction to libre sensor

lorraine c

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi has anyone like myself had an allergic reaction to libre sensors .
I have been using them for 9 months off and on and the last three have caused me this allergic reaction so have had to stop using them now .
When I told abbots about it they replied. I should see my doctor and stop using them but no explanation as to why it is happening .it is frustrating as I found them very useful
Many thanks
Lorraine
IMG_4497.jpg

Edited to remove duplicate image

Last edited by a moderator:

Eglinton71

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi,

I'm also getting an allergic reaction to the sensors but thankfully not as bad as yours. I've emailed Abbott's to ask if it's true that they are changing the formulation of the adhesive in April - I've read somewhere that this is the case. I've also asked how I can ensure I get the "new" version. If I get a response I'll let you know.

Chris.

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
There are a number of threads about this. Many of us develop an allergy after some months of use. I'd be very cautious about continuing to use it after the allergy is that pronounced - there is one case where a user went on to develope an all over rash and was very sick indeed.

https://www.diabetes.co.uk/forum/threads/freestyle-libre-poll-have-you-had-a-skin-reaction.77681/

The above is pretty informative.

Abbott seem happy for the affected users to go elsewhere, they have more than enough customers who don't have issues.

In my case, the allergy combined with the readings becoming completely erratic, so I've given up, though I might try again once the new glue makes it to New Zealand (one year, two years, three years???). Am considering the dexcom G5 (not sure when G6 will be available here).

Jollymon

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Not having good chocolate, and not cycling