mazjunkie

Type of diabetes
Don't have diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hello. I am new to this. I am a 20 year old female. I weigh around 53 kg and measure around 1.62 meters.

Let me just start by saying that I am a hypochondriac. And a bad one. I have been under extreme stress since September of 2018, in and out of hospitals to get all kinds of tests done.

In August of 2018, I had a general blood test done, I am pretty sure I had fasted but again, I had been pretty stressed since then. That blood test showed my glucose levels to be of 100 mg/dL. My doctor at the time did not warn me about anything and told me that these levels were normal, as the normal limit is usually within 110 mg/dL (in Spain, country where I got the test done). I still thought the number was too high.

I then moved to the UK. I went to the A&E in the earlier this month (March 2019) because of a panic attack I thought was a heart attack. I was told by the doctor in charge of me that my glucose levels were 5,6 mmol/L (this was at 10PM, after a hefty Indian food lunch). Again, the doctor told me these were normal numbers.

Today I had a Glycosylated HB done at a private practice because these numbers seem too high for me and again, I am a hypochondriac. According to this doctor, my levels are on the upper range of normal glucose levels, meaning I am not pre-diabetic. My haemoglobin A1C scored 5.8% and my HbA1c showed 40 mmol/mol. According to the UK from what I can see, these are normal standards. According to the Canadian Diabetes Association (I lived in Canada before), this is also normal but I am at risk of pre-diabetes. Now, according to the American Diabetes Association, I am officially pre-diabetic.