Animas or Medtronic

jemmaedias

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hey guys, I'm new to this so not sure if I'm doing this right!

I was diagnosed T1 6 months ago and I've been doing really well with injections but I'm desperate to get a pump in the hope of finding a treatment that's as close to a pancreas as possible, as I'm sure you all feel too!

I've been offered an Animas pump (they haven't specified which unfortunately) or a Medtronic Minimed 640g. I know I'd like a smaller pump which is more discrete and takes less regular checking of sugars possibly.

Does anyone use either of these and what do you think of it?

Thank you!!!

Sent from my iPhone using DCUK Forum

Reactions: 2 people

gem09

To be honest there's probably more checking of sugars with the pump! But if you work hard at it, put the effort in and commit to making the pump work for you, it's brilliant for improved control, more flexibility and less restrictive in terms of being able to adjust a basal rate and not being stuck with the dose you've already given for that day and having to work round the basal!
I went for the animas because it's waterproof and I can swim with it attached. I've found it easy to use and work with.
Gemma

Sent from my D5803 using Diabetes.co.uk Forum mobile app

Reactions: 4 people

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
Hey guys, I'm new to this so not sure if I'm doing this right!

I was diagnosed T1 6 months ago and I've been doing really well with injections but I'm desperate to get a pump in the hope of finding a treatment that's as close to a pancreas as possible, as I'm sure you all feel too!

I've been offered an Animas pump (they haven't specified which unfortunately) or a Medtronic Minimed 640g. I know I'd like a smaller pump which is more discrete and takes less regular checking of sugars possibly.

Does anyone use either of these and what do you think of it?

Thank you!!!

Sent from my iPhone using DCUK Forum