Arrrgghh Low carb not working….

MaviesDavies2

Hello
I’ve been eating low carb food for 2 years now, managed to get off the meds, and manage the t2 with diet alone. I don’t eat food with anything higher than 10g carbs per 100g. So, y’know, fruit, veg, nuts, protein, yog, etc. I don’t slip; I might overeat low carb stuff cos, y’know, food, but I have not had sugar or carby food in 2 years!

I had a stupid high h1 test end of last year, massive jump from being mid 30s, to mid 60s. They have put me back on meds, and my daily readings are not improving. I’m back up to 10 to 12 bg readings after eating meals. I dread to think what my scores would be if I was eating pasta with a side plate of chocolate biscuits and a pint of lager!!

Bit distraught, frustrated, really don’t know what’s going on, or what to do.

Hive mind, please help?

Antje77

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
I don’t eat food with anything higher than 10g carbs per 100g. So, y’know, fruit, veg, nuts, protein, yog, etc.
Foods with close to 10 grams of carbs per 100 can still add up to the total carb count, eating 200 grams of fruits or yoghurt with 10gr per 100 is still 20 grams of carbs in one go, and it's easy to eat more than 200 grams weight in one meal. So you might want to have a look at the total carbs per meal as well, and use your meter before and after meals to see how you react to them.

That said, a jump from the mid 30's to mid 60's on the same diet is a big jump. How much time was between those tests?
If things don't improve with having a close look at how different foods affect you, you might want to look into different types of diabetes. How long have you been diagnosed?

MaviesDavies2

Diagnosed about 2.5 yrs ago.

Understand about the total carb count per meal, will deffo give that a much sharper focus.

I get tested every 3 months, hence a big shock to have that jump.