Best time for testing

Peter5145

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I have been given a meter, but the diabetes nurse has told me that, as my blood glucose seems to be reasonably under control, I only need to test myself a couple of times a week.

When are the best times to do this to get a representative view - before or after meals?

Reactions: barriebanana

barriebanana

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Hi that seems crazy
I'm only learning but mostfolks on here test early morning and then before a meal and then 2 to 2 and a half hrs after the meal
Take care
barriebanana

JohnEGreen

Master
Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Tripe and Onions
I wonder what reasonably under control is in your case.of course if you are testing only a couple of times a week then you use less strips and cost less to maintain.

but you will have no idea what your blood sugar is like between times. Not good.

Sorry as to your question I test on waking, then before and after every meal normally at 1 and then 2 hours.

Even though self funding.

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
A couple of times a week seems like something and nothing, but at least you were given a meter. Did you get test strips too? Do you know what your blood results are?

Peter5145

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I wonder what reasonably under control is in your case.of course if you are testing only a couple of times a week then you use less strips and cost less to maintain.
For example, all of my "before breakfast" results over a 3-month period have been between 4.8 and 6.0.

Even ignoring the issue of cost, I see no point in testing myself on a daily basis if I'm confident what the result is going to be.

bulkbiker

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
For example, all of my "before breakfast" results over a 3-month period have been between 4.8 and 6.0.