Je21

Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Diabetes
Hi all

So I’m just over a year of being diagnosed diabetic (I was misdiagnosed type 2) and coming up to a year of being diagnosed Type 1/LADA.
I work as a care assistant with the elderly. I enjoy my job but it is difficult with the demand and staffing levels etc.
I am on novorapid, levemir and take metformin. I have a libre. I am not coping with my diagnosis very well and finding it stressful. I feel like I’m still guessing my insulin ratio, I get stressed when I think about going to restaurants etc at the thought of people seeing me inject, or my levels spiking etc. I was told novorapid took effect after around 15 minutes but I feel like it kicks in after around an hour and my BS spikes and then crashes afterward. I don’t know how to navigate this at work and only having short break times. My libre alarms often go off in the night and disturb my sleep (I wasn’t a great sleeper before diagnosed but this is definitely not helping).
I had a phone consultation scheduled and I was supposed to get another hba1c prior but I couldn’t bring myself to get bloods done or speak to the dr as I feel so embarrassed about how much I am struggling and the last appointment I had (January) my concerns were dismissed and that I was being told off for something that I didn’t ask for.

I feel incredibly stressed and I just haven’t adjusted to having diabetes at all, I can’t get used to anything.

I don’t even know what I’m posting this for as I know there’s nothing I/anyone can do I just want to vent where people might understand

Reactions: Angelofthemarches

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
HI @Je21
I'm sorry you're in a bad place mentally.