Car insurance and Type 1

victoria21

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Can anyone explain the following or have you experienced the same?

Took a car insurance policy out for my partner, with myself as a named driver. When the confirmation email comes through, it states I have a medical condition which the DVLA are aware of but not that my licence is 3yr restricted (Type 1, insulin dependant)
To make sure it was right I rang to ask them to correct it, the premium increased by £300!!!

I asked why and they state it's come from the underwriters but were also surprised at it??
I attend every doctors and hospital appointment, I am a responsible insulin dependant driver and test, test, test, don't drive unless I'm fit to, HBA1C good, spot on hypo awareness and have always had my licence renewed in the 12yrs I have had Type 1.

Can't understand why we are getting punished for a condition totally out of our control?
Also curious as to how many years I've been screwed over for this now lol

Last edited:

Braddy300

Type of diabetes
Type 1
I informed my insurance when I was diagnosed as insulin dependent diabetic in June there was no increase in my premiums and they advised me to let them know if my situation changed.

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Can anyone explain the following or have you experienced the same?

Took a car insurance policy out for my partner, with myself as a named driver. When the confirmation email comes through, it states I have a medical condition which the DVLA are aware of but not that my licence is 3yr restricted (Type 1, insulin dependant)
To make sure it was right I rang to ask them to correct it, the premium increased by £300!!!

I asked why and they state it's come from the underwriters but were also surprised at it??