Changed Freestyle sensor, readings all much higher

finzi1966

Has anyone had this happen - I changed my sensor yesterday (only my second one, so I’m quite new to this). It’s readings seem to be much higher than the last one, for no obvious reason (ie no change in diet or exercise or anything else). Frustratingly, I am away from home this week and have no access to a finger prick monitor to check.

I’m just wondering if this is a thing that can happen between different sensors? I know it isn’t really important in the scheme of things, but it’s just really upsetting and depressing me. My readings were all sevens and eights with some sixes with my first monitor, now they’re all nines and tens. Obviously calibrating it with a finger prick monitor would give me the answer but I won’t have access to one for another four days, and I’m getting more and more miserable.

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
It is frequently mentioned that Libre sensors may be inaccurate on the first day or two as our body gets used to having an alien object inserted into their arm. This is why many of us insert the sensor 24 hours or more before activating it.
You may find that your readings are closer to what you expect in a day or two.

However, it is possible that you have a dud sensor and the only way to tell is to check with a finger prick. Pharmacists used to offer a diabetes testing service which was just a finger prick test. I don't know if this is something that has gone along the wayside wit the pandemic but you could ask a friendly local pharmacist if they could do a test for you to compare.

Reactions: finzi1966

Lakeslover

Yes, I find different sensors can give different results and I attach mine 48hours before starting. My sensor usually reads up to two points below my meter.

but I have noticed the last two sensors are reading higher, ie closer to the meter. Maybe coincidence or maybe libre have changed something.