Type 2 Clueless

stevesellars

Hi all, so I'm new to this diabetes thing, its started off when my doctor took bloods to check my iron levels, he phones me 3 days before my 44th birthday to inform me that all my bloods where fine apart from one, he informed me that i was type 2, 7.6%/60 not very high but higher enough to be diabetic. But my first appointment not till the 23rd, so I've done some research, however I've found a lot conflicting info about what i can and can't eat. My doctor was very forthcoming with info over the phone apart from i need to diet, I'm 6"5' and well buil, always on my feet and moving while at work.
Dose anyone know what my macros are meant to be?
And is there a food tracker app that i could link with my Samsung health?
As I'm not on insulin but do i need to check my blood glucose?

NicoleC1971

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi all, so I'm new to this diabetes thing, its started off when my doctor took bloods to check my iron levels, he phones me 3 days before my 44th birthday to inform me that all my bloods where fine apart from one, he informed me that i was type 2, 7.6%/60 not very high but higher enough to be diabetic. But my first appointment not till the 23rd, so I've done some research, however I've found a lot conflicting info about what i can and can't eat. My doctor was very forthcoming with info over the phone apart from i need to diet, I'm 6"5' and well buil, always on my feet and moving while at work.
Dose anyone know what my macros are meant to be?
And is there a food tracker app that i could link with my Samsung health?
As I'm not on insulin but do i need to check my blood glucose?
Type 2 can be reversed with diet and exercise with the former definitely having the most impact!