Confused about RH diagnosis and treatment

Leshara86

So I was recently diagnosed with reactive hypoglycemia by my endocrinologist. I was also diagnosed as type 2 diabetic in 2014 and my episodes of hypoglycemia started roughly around the same time. I was initially put on only metformin for my diabetes which doesnt cause hypos, so I questioned my doctor as to why I was having hypos and she didnt know. So I've been managing them on my own for 5 years or so thinking it was part of being a type 2 diabetic. I recently found out this was not the case. Over this time I've worked at managing my blood sugars and have brought my hba1c down to 5.2 mmol. My fasting glucose is usually 4.8 mmol and I rarely get any reading above 8 even after a big meal. I test regularly every day. Fasting, before a meal, 1 hr after and 2 hrs after. Theres usually not any spike. It may be around 6-7 mmol at the one hour mark and back to between 4 and 5.5 mmol at the 2 hr mark. Over the next 3 or more hours it will keep dropping til I'm hypo. I get symptoms at the 3.7mmol mark and it sometimes hits 2 to 2.5. I eat really low GI, avoid sugar etc and I'm confused because I thought RH usually happened after a big carb intake and a sugar spike within 4 hours of eating? Mine seems to happen randomly up to 6 hrs after eating a low carb meal with no spike in blood sugar. I recently had a 3 hr OGTT done which showed a fasting glucose of 4.6mmol and insulin of 45 mU/L. The 1 hour test showed 9.5 glucose and 220 mU/l insulin. 2 hr was 6.1 glucose, 382 insulin and 3 hr was 2.9 glucose, 93 insulin. As far as I can tell, the glucose readings are fairly good for a diabetic and I was hypo at the 3hr mark. I'm not sure how to interpret the insulin readings and my Gp didnt know either. My diagnosis of RH came from this test but my endocrinologist didnt bother to tell me the diagnosis herself, she just sent it in a letter to the GP. She (my endo) wants me to start on injectable Exenatide, but I read that it increas