corrections

victoria84

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
hi guys
just wondering if im having to keep correcting my novorapid to bring bg levels down because my background isnt high enough?

weeezer

Sounds like a possibility, but it could also be that your insulin:carb ratio isn't high enough, and your just not getting enough insulin to cover the carbs your eating.

If your bg is just higher 2 hours after eating then it's prob as above, but if your bg is higher than you'd like before meals and first thing in morn then I'd think you needed more background.

Pop some readings on here and It'll give more to go on!

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

victoria84

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
i have been taught to carb count using ratio 1-10

it is generally in the morning
last night went to bed it was 9.6 got up it was 15.3
the day before it was 9.2 when going to bed and 12.3 on getting up.

i usually have to correct at evening meal also but i take my background at 7pm so im thinking it is because my background has run out may have to start taking that later.

2 hours after dinner readings will be around 10.3 but then 3-4 hours later when checking before eating it will be around the 15 mark again

weeezer

Ooh yeh that looks like not enough background to me. You could split your background so you cover 24 hrs....of course discuss with dsn, but lots of peeps do this. (I used to have 2/3 at bed then 1/3 in morn, but this moved around when pregnant and ended up being the other way round :/ I'm on pump now so continuous basal)

But looks like you could do with a tad more background anyway.