Diagnosed yesterday

KatieW

Hi all, I was diagnosed with T2 yesterday and started on Metformin 500mg, I have to take 1 per day for 2 weeks then increase to 2 per day..

I'm just a bit confused by everything at the moment - what I can and can't eat (apart from the obvious) and am struggling to get my head around what's going on! I'm sure I'll get set straight soon but I'm just learning to cope with it.

whompa73

Dislikes
Chavs
Hi youll figure alot out qoute quickly especilly as you have come to the right place for practial help. Have a look arround the dietry advice sections as you'll no doubt be getting some shocks as to what you can tolerate and what will spike your bg'g . Good luck and welcome
James

Netty70

Hi Katie
Just get your head round being diabetic first and having to take medication every day all day :-(
Then start to look at changes you can make to help your diabetes
When I was first diagnosed it took me about a month just to get my head round it and even now I struggle
Good luck Hun

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

Andy12345

Expert
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Doctors
hi, welcome :)

im sorry to hear your news :(

theres a lot to take in and no rush to do that, the main thing is that life isn't over, theres an awful lot to read about and you will have many questions, we have all been where you are now and anything we can help you with we will try our bests to ease the pain of this pain in the butt called diabloodybetes

for now have a look at the forum nutritional threads to pick up some eating tips, lots of folks on this forum believe that lowering carbs is the way to go, so have at look at the low carb threads and see what you think.

take a few breaths from time to time, overwhelming is what this is at first but time will make things easier

you can control this condition and live a long happy life, maybe longer and happier than without it :)

anyways for now good luck

sparkyrich

Andy12345 said: