• Total voters

Zhnyaka

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Homophobia, racism, sexism
I hear this very often from diabetics themselves, but I have never seen a serious scientific work on this topic (if you have a link, please share it). When I have to show my passport or tell people how old I am, they are usually very surprised that I am so old, and recently I was told that I look like a schoolgirl, although I graduated from school 10 years ago. Is that the case with you too?

Reactions: Grant_Vicat and M@

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I too have been told I look younger than I am but I don't put that down to diabetes. I used to be told the same thing for decades before my diagnosis and still do.
Maybe we look after ourselves better because we are more aware of our health or maybe some people just look younger than others. I definitely know some people with Type 1 who look older than I expect.

I embrace it and, provided it is not holding you back (I did not like getting "carded" in the US when I was in my mid-30s and wanted a beer), I recommend doing the same.

Last edited:

Rokaab

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I am often told I look 10-15 years younger than I am (yes I was still getting ID'd buying booze when I was 40), however, so did my mum and so did my grandma and neither of them were T1, so I think mine is more a family trait rather than anything else.

Zhnyaka

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
what a pity we don't have a twin without diabetes to test this theory!

zand

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I was often told I looked younger than my age. I wasn't diabetic and didn't particularly look after myself.

Reactions: Grant_Vicat

david4503

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin