Fed up.

Sophia95

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi guys, this is my first time here. I'm a type one diabetic and have been since I was 10 (12 years ago). I think I am suffering through a diabetes burnout. I just don't feel like I can get a stable grip on my life. I'm studying children's nursing at uni and am in my final year so am juggling exams, dissertation, essays as well as my placement which is 12.5 hour shifts. I recently broke up from a 4.5 year relationship. I am also on the omni pod pump and have been for over 18 months. However I HATE it. I have told my diabetes team but they keep saying 'give it a little while longer'. They always leak on me and I have had so, so, so many serious Highs because of it. I want to go back to my old Medtronic or failing that injections. However injections won't fit as easily in my day-to-day ward life as I can't eat when I need to.
I just find myself breaking all the rules (after my pods have messed me up so much). I buy huge bars of chocolate and sweets daily. I have got coeliac disease and I keep eating gluten. I do give myself insulin, however I do not carb count appropriately and guesstimate my insulin. I have no idea what I'm doing anymore.

I thought this would happen when I was younger, not 22. My average BG for 4 weeks is so high at 13.6.

I would just like to point out although I do mistreat myself. I do not put any of my patients care at risk, ever. But I am worried I will accidentally mess up where I'm always so high.

I just feel like there is no point trying right now. My friends and family do not understand, my boyfriend understood very well :(

I also have a massive spot problem on my face that I have never suffered with before. I don't know if anybody has any advice for that either.

Sorry for the rant. I'd be very grateful for any support or advice.

Thank you so much.

Sophia x