first nurse visit after diagnosis

S

serenity648

I am feeling a bit apprehensive about my first visit to the diabetic nurse on Wednesday. She wants me to take a record of everything I have eaten the past week to see where I am going wrong.

I have been reading lots of stuff on here about how the NHS suggestions wont work. How do I tackle this? Do I smile, nod and then go home and do my own thing?

I am not very good at going against what medical people say.

what else is likely to happen? If she tells me off for being overweight, i may well cry.

Neohdiver

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Smiling and nodding is just fine if that is what works for you. Ultimately, you control what goes in your mouth - and the DN is unlikely to argue with results. You can monitor what results you're getting & adjust accordingly so that what you eat is either compliant, or creates good result. Don't let her fat shame you. :mad:

My doctor is fully behind my reduced carbohydrate diet (although he had not done the math to understand how much fat that meant I would be consuming). So by the time he was looking at daily fat consumption, he could see the results in my sig line.from my 5 month check-up. His words, "Keep on doing what you're doing."

S

serenity648

I am supposed to be making an appointment for my 3 month follow up blood test and to see the diabetic nurse again. I dont want to go. I am supposed to have lost 10kg by now, and have only lost 3.5kg. I cant face being told off or told i havent been trying. I am in a fragile state at the moment with my anxiety, and i dont want to give her the satisfaction of seeing me cry.

pleinster

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
ignorance