Food spikes

Paul Jackson

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi all. I am in need of help. For years I have had the same diet but the last 12 months have seen a change in the way my T1 BG reacts to food. I spike horribly when having eaten. For this reason I skip breakfast. And weekends I skip as much food as I can get away with. But at work it’s a different story. For years I’ve have the same kind of food for lunch. Usually 2 slices of home made brown bread sandwich. With a fruit ( Banana / this week it’s tangerine a small piece of fruit cake and a babybell cheese. However. When I eat this my bloods spike from 7’s or lower to 17’s or higher. So I am obviously eating the wrong foods now. What can I take to work. I work in a warehouse office and facilities are not that great so cooking is out of the question Han e the current diet what can I make the day before that will still be fresh and tasty at14:00 the next day. I am really struggling over this spiking and tend over do on the insulin as I give insulin for 95 carbs for the about and then an hour later add another 30 or so barbs worth of insulin. I am on the 780g pump and the poor thing is working over time and I a paranoid about going high as once it ended up with me in hospital for 6 days with DKA

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
forum bugs
Have you talked to your diabetes team about this?

Some possibilities to consider might be

1) bolussing earlier
2 changing your ratios
3 changing insulin
4 absorption issues due to bad sites (disclaimer I'm not a pump user so this suggestion might be completely wrong)
5 going lower carb, as in your question

Personally I have developed some insulin resistance (thanks T2 dad) and can no longer tolerate high carbs as well as when I was younger...

Another thought.How long have you had a cgm? Is it possible that you spiked like this before but didn't know because you were testing with a glucometer?

• Agree