Forxiga Advice

pau1200

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi,

I have been T2 for about 5 years but my last 2 hb1ac as seen my levels creep up. I’ve started to cut other things out of my diet which is helping but had a call with my Dr and he want to add 10mg of Forxiga to my 2000mg metformin to bring it down. He has scared the hell out of me with side effects and said I have to be really watch out for them because they can be life threatening. I’m honest I’m not sure I want to take it but am I being silly. Is the medication safe? Ut was the mention of gangrene that has me panicked. Is it a widely used drug and how common are side effects.

Thanks

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
How about asking the dr if he’d give you three months of trying to adjust your diet, with a repeat HbA1c at the end? Sorry I have no knowledge or experience of Forxiga

Reactions: Outlier

pau1200

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
How about asking the dr if he’d give you three months of trying to adjust your diet, with a repeat HbA1c at the end? Sorry I have no knowledge or experience of Forxiga

Hi,

I did ask for that but he was keen to put on the tablet as he said it will help get it under control quicker and it protects your heart. I told him I had concerns after the side effects he mentioned but he said I might not have any so it’s worth a try. I usually think my dr is really good but this time it felt more like just take it. I have been depressed for the last 12 months but that’s under control now and I’m feeling a lot better so want to get back on track, maybe it’s there way of helping.

Reactions: Rachox

Rachox

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi,