Freestyle Libre 2 - Removal of sticky residue from the arm.

JurassicMark

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I've been using the Freestyle Libre 2 for about 18 months without any major problems but I'm wondering if there's a better way to remove the sticky residue from the underside of my arm after removing the device. I currently pick some of it off using my fingernails and try to remove the rest using a flannel soaked in warm water and normal soap. It requires some forceful rubbing and the residue eventually comes off but it leaves the arm feeling a bit sore and tender.

I've been looking at solutions, wipes, etc. that will make this task easier but before making a purchase, I'd like to ask other members of this forum if they have any good ideas.

jaywak

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Cold weather, angry people, queues,
I find after I've pulled off the sensor I just have a shower with soap and water and the job is done .

Jordi77

Type of diabetes
Type 2
I have the same problem and I just use soap and water and a wet cloth and it comes off but it normally finds the hole that is left by the sensor and the other bits that it has taken with it but I know what you mean by the sourness afterwards but I normally rinse it back under the tap and it's gone and then I pat it dry and check that all the residue is off and it is but I have also used a alcohol wipe and that does the trick as well as it's moist enough and I just all it to dry normally to air but it does sting at the small hole where the sender has been

Hopeful34

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I use Pelican spray, because I use Skin tac before applying any sensor.

In Response

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I too am a soap and water gal but I have read that baby oil will remove it.
I think I have some Zoff in my D-drawer but it has never been used (or needed)

HairySmurf

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)