hello all!! just testing the water

samnorris

hello everybody, my name is sam. I am 20 years old and i am an undergraduate student studying human psychology at demontfort university in Leicester. I am not a diabetic but my girlfriend is, this is where my interest in the area stems from.
I am starting work on my dissertation, for those who don't know this that is my final year report, which is 10 000 words and will be published (if good enough :wink: )
The research area i want to try and study is whether age of diagnosis and upbringing effect attitudes in type 1 diabetics. This will consist of a roughly twenty minuite interview. This will be kept confidential with only me the researcher and my guidance tutor being able to view your responses.
So in short, i am looking to interview type 1 diabetics!! preferably in and around Leicester and also perhaps on the phone. In order to get this research approved i need to find a large enough sample, so let me know guys!! Thank you very much, sorry for the rather heavy introduction! Have a nice day!!
sam

sugarless sue

Master
Dislikes
Rude people! Not being able to do the things I want to do.
Hi Sam,and welcome to the forum.I will leave your two posts just now but merge them once you have had some answers,probably move it to type 1 forum.I'm sure you will get some replies once some type 1 members log in.

phoenix

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Hi Sam, I'm sure age does make a very big difference. As someone who developed type 1 when already a grandmother, I had already gone through most of difficult age stages and certainly have no peer group pressure. I was only thankful that my weight loss was not due to cancer.
Unfortunately, I'm nowhere near Leicester, but good luck with your research.

totsy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
liars, animal cruelty
hya sam,
welcome and im sorry im not near you too, but im willing to do it over the phone :D

KimSuzanne

Hi Sam