Hello from a reformed diabetic!

icarusman

Hello everyone!

Just a quick introduction. I've been denying diabetes for about 18 years, and have finally admitted to myself that I am diabetic about a year ago. In this past year I have been working especially hard to regain some control. I have attended a structured education course, so am now using insulin to carb ratios and correction doses. Recently I have been struggling with the amount of time and attention it's taking, and the lack of results. In the past 6 months I have seen a slight improvement in my HBA1c, which is now 7.9. Still, most days I am getting BS in double figures.

I am now waiting to see a consultant about pump therapy. I am very keen to try using a pump as I have heard very positive accounts from a couple of chaps I spoke to recently. I have made a post asking for advice on applying for a pump here:
http://www.diabetes.co.uk/diabetes-forum/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=6576

For a long time I have felt quite alone in being diabetic. There really isn't anyone I can sound off to, which is why I find myself here. Since attending the course at my local hospital, I have discovered the benefit of sharing experiences and expertise.

Again, hello. And thanks for having me.

C

catherinecherub

Welcome aboard icarusman,
Things can only get better from now on.
Regards, Catherine.

totsy

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
liars, animal cruelty
hya and welcome to the forum :D

icarusman

Thanks! I'm ever so pleased that I stumbled across this site. I hope that I can share some of my experience to help out others.

IanD

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Carbohydrates
Hope we can help. Meanwhile, don't fly too near the sun :lol:

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin