Hey everyone ^_^

loreenie

Hey everyone :D

I'm new here but I've had type 1 for 10yrs since I was 12. My parents kept my HbA1c <7 when I was young but at university, I had so much freedom - eating out, snacking, not really carb counting and a general over-relaxed approach (I like eating but I should've known better as I'm a vet student!).... Now I'm in final year and my HbA1c = 9.8 :( bad bad bad! :( My parents haven't been that helpful and have sort of given up on me. :cry:

I just finished a course based on BERTIE/DAFNE. There were a few things I didn't really agree with but when I asked, they insisted that I was incorrect but I wasn't convinced :( .... but I found the answers here and this forum is really helpful! I'm really impressed that so many people here have HbA1c in the 5s and 6s :eek:. So I'm determined to count carbs, eat out less and not snack to decrease my HbA1c! Hopefully I will lose some weight too. :)

I'm using Levemir once daily at midnight and Novorapid. My diet is liberal low-carb. Is it okay to just have protein & vegetables for dinner? I'm eating weetabix for breakfast, sandwich and fruits for lunch but they insisted that I must have carbs for dinner too :?:

Thanks,
Loreenie :p

onemanunit

Dislikes
Let's not get into that.
My parents are a bit like that too, annoyingly... but as long as you concentrate and think of the future you can control your carbs easy. Theres nothing wrong with eating muffins ect as long as you inject for it and rememeber to keep the exercise up!. Eating just protein and vegetables is fine, but there isn't anything wrong with pasta or rice for example. I eat alot like you do, although I do throw in every bad food in the world as well..... my hb1acs used to be 5-6 I've had it up to 11 and maybe 13 once. I'm on about 40-50 units of rapid novo insulin a day and 62 of the long lasting stuff at night.