Hi, I'm a newbie, advice please!

seahorse10

Hi everyone, just come across this forum- what a great resource and everyone seems really helpful. I was diagnosed with GD 3 weeks ago (week 29). I just wondered if anyone can reassure me. I was normal weight at conception- first weigh in from midwife 55 kilos, (8st 9lb) BMI 23. Last week (week 31) I was 61kilos, (9st eight) BMI 25.8- so I don't think I've put on a huge amount of weight. I am controlling my blood sugar through diet but only by eating very very little, as my diet was already quite good. I know there's no direct correlation between bs and calories but I find that I've generally been eating under 1000 cals per day. When I questioned whether this was ok for the baby the dr was quite dismissive, and said it was fine, that he didn't want me to put any more weight on between now and the birth, (and gave me a lecture about having to continue to eat like this after the birth to prevent full blown diabetes) but I am worried about ketosis? (Also miserable and hungry! :lol: ) Anyone been in this situation?

Grazer

Hi and welcome! Not had much experience with GD - well, I am a man! :lol: However, I have quite a lot of experience with diabetes.
seahorse10 said:
I know there's no direct correlation between bs and calories